A-Rod wins home run title

first_imgYankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez edged Boston designated hitter David Ortiz to win his fourth AL home run title in five years, Michael Young of the Texas Rangers won his first AL batting title, and Ortiz led the league in RBI. Rodriguez hit 48 homers to give the New York Yankees their first home run champion since Reggie Jackson was co-leader in 1980. A-Rod won consecutive titles with Texas from 2001-03. AD Quality Auto 360p 720p 1080p Top articles1/5READ MOREThe top 10 theme park moments of 2019 Cleveland’s Kevin Millwood (9-11 with a 2.86 ERA) became the first AL ERA champion with a losing record since the Indians’ Stan Coveleski in 1923 and the first in the major leagues since St. Louis’ Joe Magrane in 1988. Millwood edged Minnesota’s Johan Santana, who gave up one run in seven innings against Detroit on Sunday and finished at 2.87. The Angels’ Bartolo Colon (21-8) topped the AL in victories, while teammate Francisco Rodriguez tied Cleveland’s Bob Wickman for the league lead in saves at 45. Royals coaches let go: Kansas City Royals pitching coach Guy Hansen and bench coach Bob Schaefer will not be back next year. General manager Allard Baird announced that neither would be offered major-league contracts for 2006 but would be offered positions within the organization. The remaining field coaches will be extended contract offers for the 2006 season, Baird said. Brewers coaches to return: Four members of the coaching staff for the Milwaukee Brewers were asked to return after the team posted its first non-losing season in 13 years. Bullpen coach Bill Castro, pitching coach Mike Maddux, first base coach Dave Nelson and batting coach Butch Wynegar are all coming back, the team said. Bench coach Rich Dauer and third base coach Rich Donnelly were not asked back for their fourth seasons with the Brewers. Milwaukee was 81-81, its first non-losing season since going 92-70 in 1992. 160Want local news?Sign up for the Localist and stay informed Something went wrong. Please try again.subscribeCongratulations! You’re all set!center_img Young batted .331 to beat out Rodriguez, second at .321. Ortiz won the RBI title for the first time at 148. last_img read more